Log in


The Scholarship Committee is comprised of several committee members and typically includes 1-2 board members. The Committee promotes NEDRA scholarships including the Heather Reisz Memorial Scholarships, the Helen Brown Group-NEDRA Conference Scholarship, DEI Scholarships, and NEDRA Community Scholarships and selects the recipients of each. 

The members of the Scholarship Committee are as follows: 

  • Stephanie Snow, Harvard University, NEDRA board member and Scholarship Committee Co-Chair
  • Kiran Tahir, Yale Law School, NEDRA board member and Scholarship Committee Co-Chair
  • Samir Chapra, Princeton University
  • Amber Countis, University of Houston-Victoria
  • Amanda Hayes, Tufts University
  • Laura Pelletrino, Phillips Academy 
  • Katherine Reisz-Hanson, Reisz family member
  • Elisha Winkler, American Cancer Society

Volunteer Tasks:

  • Work with the Communications and Conference Committees to ensure publication, promotion, and call for scholarship applications are shared with members.
  • Identify best practices for ensuring a robust pool of applicants, which may entail proactive solicitation/encouragement of newer members of the research and NEDRA community.
  • Lead fundraising efforts throughout the year which may include drafting appeal letters for former donors and acquisition of new donors.
  • Consult NEDRA board or treasurer to ensure budget, number, and/or amount of scholarships that may be offered if scholarship sponsor is not utilized.
  • Consult with Sponsorship Committee to identify and secure a conference scholarship sponsor, as needed.
  • Establish and lead a clear stewardship plan for current and future donors.
  • Establish and maintain scoring metrics for applications and determine any needs for future application requirements.
  • Review nominations and make recommendations to the board of directors on the winners.
  • Notify awardees and encourage them to serve as conference volunteers.
  • Facilitate introduction of awardee and scholarship sponsor and/or family members at conference (or electronically, if applicable).
  • Steward scholarship sponsor(s).

Time Commitment:

The Scholarship Committee typically has 4-6 conference calls beginning in the fall through the early spring (dependent on dates of annual conference) to identify individual tasks, discuss applicants, rank and vote on submissions, etc. The total time commitment is estimated to be 5-7 hours total.


465 Waverly Oaks Road, Suite 421
Waltham, MA 02452

© 2021 New England Development Research Association


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software